Samsung Galaxy Mega 5.8 I9150 Hard Reset to Factory Settings

The Galaxy Mega model from Samsung Mobile comes in black, purple and white. Released in May 2013, this is the kind of Dual-SIM card phone that has it all: great connectivity features, amazing 8 MP camera on the back, as well as an 1.9 MP frontal cam. Apart from that, its Li-Ion 2600 mAh battery seems to last forever – even in 3G mode. If the device is currently lagging, being slow or freezing, if you’re bothered by errors and other unpleasant messages, you could hard reset the Samsung Galaxy Mega 5.8 I9150 right away.

This is not such a complicated thing to do as it may seem to most. Although knowing as much as possible about the device, as well as understanding the procedure itself, you won’t be required any special IT skills to get this done. It is important, however, to be aware of the fact that this restores all settings to default, while the OS will also be reinstalled, so that it runs on version 4.2.2 – Jelly Bean – of Android.

samsung-galaxy-mega-58-i9150

HOW TO RESTORE THE SAMSUNG GALAXY MEGA

Although there are many cool things about the Galaxy Mega, the one that’s definitely important for those wanting to hard reset it is that it has a secret code. This one is its master reset code that allows anyone to restore it to factory settings by using the dialer.

To do this, you will have to recharge the device and turn it on:

  1. Open the Dial Pad and wait.
  2. Type *2767*3855# and press Call.
  3. Wait for the format to be complete, and the phone will restart.

This is the easiest way to do it, as it also takes around 5 minutes, and it doesn’t require any technical skills. If this method didn’t work for you or in case you just can’t use the keyboard as you should, it might be worth trying the following solution:

  1. samsung-galaxy-mega-5-8-resetSwitch the device off, and the recharge this one.
  2. Press Volume Up, Power and the Home buttons and hold them together.
  3. Wait for the logo to appear and release all three keys.
  4. Use Volume Down to go to the Reset option and Power to select it.
  5. Use the same keys to choose Yes and accept the Reboot Now option.

Once you click on the last button to confirm this operation, the system is going to delete all files and reboot. You will lose anything that hasn’t been transferred on a cloud or some other device that could’ve been used for backup purposes.