Hard Reseting LG Nexus 5

LG Nexus 5 was announced in October 2013 and the phone was available for sale from in November 2013. It features a 4.95 inches True HD IPS+ capacitive touchscreen display with more than 16 million colors. The resolution of the display is 1080 x 1920 (~ 445 ppi pixel density). The processor of the smartphone is a Quad-core 2.3 GHz Krait 400; Qualcomm MSM8974 Snapdragon 800 while the graphic processor is Adreno 330. The phone has an internal memory of 16 GB or 32 GB and 2 GB. The operating system is Android OS, v5.0 (Lolipop), upgradable to v6.0 (Marshmallow).15

Even if it was designed to work at an optimal level, as any tech product on the market, it starts to work slower than usual after a period of time and even to freeze whenever you open some applications. For this reason, it is highly recommended to perform a master reset It is important to mention the fact that you will lose any personal data on the phone, including your accounts, your passwords, your pictures, your music and your contacts. This is the reason why it is strongly recommended to perform a backup on your phone before you start the hard reset process.

Here is the first method to bring back your device to a functional state and get it up and running without problems.

  1. Make sure your phone is turned on.
  2. From the Home screen, tap on the Apps menu, then Settings.
  3. Click on ‘Backup and reset’, then ‘Factory data reset’.
  4. Select the ‘Erase everything to perform a factory reset’ option and wait for the phone to reboot.

Here is the second method, which involves using the external buttons:

  1. Turn off your device
  2. Press and hold the following sequence: Volume Down + Volume Up + Power/Lock keys until the until an arrow with the word ‘Start’ appears
  3. Press the Volume Down button two times to get into the Recovery mode.
  4. Push on the Lock key/Power bar to restart into the Recovery mode.
  5. Tap on Power/Lock key, then press the Volume Up button.
  6. Use the Volume keys to navigate and press the Power key to select the ‘Yes- delete all user data’

7 Wait for your device to get back to its initial settings.